PaulicusSILVER Member
stranger
3 posts

Posted:
Hi all,

I've been spinning for a little over 6 months. I bought myself some flowlights, and I've enjoyed modding them and changing the LED colors. However, I just can't seem to find a purple LED that doesn't have a red trail in strobe modes (See https://www.glowsticking.com/forums/topic/22429-modding-flowlights/
, near the bottom). The poster liked it in that case, but I don't like the extra red color with the lights I've picked. None of the LED websites I've looked at mention whether there's a red trail or not. I've even tried buying purple LEDs from Flowtoys, but it's a hassle for them and expensive for me.

Does anyone know where I can buy some purple 5mm LEDs to put into flowlights, that dont have the red tracer effect?

thanks!

Gary_CifersSILVER Member
64 posts

Posted:
You could try locating some UV LED's... Seeing that purple is a combination of red and blue, and in led's the red has a slightly longer shutdown time, then on any "purple led's you're going to have the red tracer effect... UV LED's on the other hand operate on a different wavelength and should be a solid color, The only downfall tho is the UV lights are easily drowned out by other lights and are kinda irritating to look at but i'm not sure how it would be spinning around...

PaulicusSILVER Member
stranger
3 posts

Posted:
I was about to try UVs but then I found some without tracers, I think. Has anyone tried UV in poi? I'd be worried about it being too dark, or that it might turn out more blue-ish.

I have found these:

https://www.madvapes.com/5mm-Violet-LED_p_2118.html

https://lightzombies.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=3129