JoshuaJreamerGOLD Member
stranger
2 posts

Posted:
Hi,
I am new to Poi only starting about a year ago and simply love the learning experiences I am having while playing with poi.

I have been practicing pretty regularly and going on hear looking at all the cool videos and I practice and drill and have a great time learning.

I have reached a point where I can become pretty free form although I'm still practicing my behind the back and crossers and 5+ beat weaves.

I kinda of was wondering where to go from here? I want to start on some of the more techy stuff but dont really know where to begin.

Any and all help is greatly apreciated!

Thanks,
Josh J.

astonSILVER Member
Unofficial Chairperson of Squirrel Defense League
4,061 posts

Posted:
Flowers.

'We're all mad here. I'm mad, you're mad." [said the Cat.]
"How do you know I'm mad?" said Alice.
"You must be," said the Cat, "Or you wouldn't have come here."
- Lewis Carroll, Alice's Adventures In Wonderland

Mr Majestikcoming to a country near you
45 posts

Posted:
Flowers? It's says nothing. But if you can become pretty free with
some moves, I'd continue here.. Simply, continue with the drilling
and start to experiment a bit with a basic tech, like planes,
timing, direction, circle etc.

adeathlyauraGOLD Member
The Poi Spinning Undead
173 posts

Posted:
Check out Drex's poi tech blog for some ideas. He has a lot of videos. Google drexfactor.

I agree with Aston though. Definitely delve deeper into flowers. Learn as many as you can. There are plenty of tech-y hybrid flower patterns that look pretty awesome.

Question everything.

astonSILVER Member
4,061 posts

Posted:
Julian: How does it not say anything? The sheer volume of what you can do with flowers meant that I figured it was fairly pointless going into detail on anything. You can keep yourself busy with them for a long while, especially when you consider wall-plane flowers as well.