Forums > Technical Discussion > Fire eating torch construction

Login/Join to Participate

adeathlyauraGOLD Member
The Poi Spinning Undead
173 posts

Posted:
Okay, so I've been eating fire for about six months now and have never had any problems. No injuries or anything and I've been pretty cautious with my practice. However, a few days ago I finally learned the dragon's breath and tonight when I swiped my lips over the torch, it pulled it off! Literally, I had a flaming torch head fall into my face. Luckily, I wasn't hurt and I have no marks from it. It didn't even hurt and so I kind of laughed afterwards (so I didn't alarm the people watching), but truthfully, I was terrified!

I'm thinking I seriously need to make my torches more durable somehow. Usually, I dip bbq skewers in white Elmer's glue and wrap Kevlar very tightly around the skewer, while stopping every now and again to add more glue. I then sew the Kevlar together with Kevlar thread and to finish it off I use more glue to seal it. After all that is done, I use a lighter to harden the glue. I've never had a problem with this method before, but after tonight, I'm uncomfortable making them like this now.

How are fire eating torches usually made? I can't screw the heads onto anything as hot metal in my mouth would be extremely unpleasant. I'm thinking I might just use a hot glue gun instead of the Elmer's glue, but if anyone has any advice for me, it would really be appreciated. I'm not going to be eating fire anymore until I figure something out.

Question everything.

ElectricBlueGOLD Member
Now with extra strawberries
810 posts

Posted:
I have not made them my self but i have seen people make them out of BBQ skewers, i think they bent over the end of the skewer right around so that the wick had some thing to hold on to.

I {Heart} hand me downs and spinning in the snow.<br /><br />

Chris_Lu1DIAMOND Member
Flow Artist
67 posts

Posted: