Forums > Help! > what size staff is appropriate for my size?

Login/Join to Participate

misstastystranger
2 posts

Posted:
Im rather new to staff, and my friend gave me her old one. its 4"7" and i am 4"11". i want to order a new staff that is lighter, considering im a begginer. what would be a good size for me? As i would like to learn a lot of moves, which the staff i have now is heavy, and is sorta hard to manipulate. thanks.

astonSILVER Member
Unofficial Chairperson of Squirrel Defense League
4,061 posts

Posted:
Sounds like a good length for contact staff work. smile

Most things I have read suggest between shoulder and head for a single staff. Mine is just less than chin high. I am not very proficient at this though.

'We're all mad here. I'm mad, you're mad." [said the Cat.]
"How do you know I'm mad?" said Alice.
"You must be," said the Cat, "Or you wouldn't have come here."
- Lewis Carroll, Alice's Adventures In Wonderland

CyricxGOLD Member
28 posts

Posted:
I've always used the measurement up to the chin for a good length and that seems to have worked very well. Of course as you get more proficient you may desire a shorter or longer one depending on the type of complex motions you like. smile But floor to chin level is a good place to start.

US Performer liability insurance run by performers. Why pay more then you have to?

WeAreSafe.org

MynciBRONZE Member
Macaque of all trades
8,738 posts

Posted:
longer staffs have more balance and less speed for contact and shorter ones are more conducive to spinning / doubles.

My Contact staff is about shoulder height or a bit under.

To be fair though best length is the one you feel comfortable with. if you find the wick hits the floor when passing behind your back you may need a shorter one grin

A couple of balls short of a full cascade... or maybe a few cards short of a deck... we'll see how this all fans out.

misstastystranger
2 posts

Posted: