Draegenstranger
2 posts

Posted:
I'm a bit new to poi and I want to learn more. I am confident enough to begin using fire but I'd like to learn more from someone decent as well as find someone or a place in the Philadelphia pa area that sells fire poi. Any help would be appreciated.

~Draegen

DreamsofDiscordSILVER Member
stranger
9 posts

Posted:
Define "a bit new"? I consider myself "a bit new" having been spinning for maybe a month and I like my skin and hair a bit too much to go near fire myself just yet laugh3

"Until a man is twenty-five, he still thinks, every so often, that under the right circumstances he could be the baddest motherf*cker in the world." -N. Stephenson

Draegenstranger
2 posts

Posted:
Well I hvent done fire but in fairly good with poi. I don't hit myself on basic moves at least haha. I'm looking to get into fire.

DreamsofDiscordSILVER Member
stranger
9 posts

Posted:
I know I can't speak for everyone, but I know some folks who play with fire and they advised me against it until I was completely competent with whatever toys I wanted to set on fire. When I say "completely competent" I mean unconscious memory, can do it your eyes closed. The more attention you can pay to the fire and you're immediate surrounds and person, the better.

That said, best of luck finding someone to teach you to play with fire! There is a lot of helpful information on playing with fire and fire safety in the How-To section of this website smile I'd work more on my technique and worry less about putting myself in harm's way, but that's just me wink

"Until a man is twenty-five, he still thinks, every so often, that under the right circumstances he could be the baddest motherf*cker in the world." -N. Stephenson

astonSILVER Member
Unofficial Chairperson of Squirrel Defense League
4,061 posts

Posted:
You can try the "Meet Others" or "Events" sections of the fora. Also, the fire poi HoP sell are well good, if you are looking.