Forums > Help! > a lot of questions

Login/Join to Participate

zanevBRONZE Member
God
33 posts

Posted:
Im just starting out and am learning with out fire...

But I have some questions for when I am ready to light up (fire staff):

1) What is the proper procedure for lighting up? How do you get the fuel onto the wick and what else is involved?

2) If I cant spin long enough for the flame to go out by itself, how do I put out the flame on my staff?

3) We normally spin on a beach very close to water, is there any disadvantage to having a lot of sand around?

4) Shoes: Is it better to wear shoes or can I be barefoot when spinning (due to being on a beach)?

5) I've seen a lot of spinners spin shirtless, is there an advantage to this verses wearing a regular cotton shirt?

Life is a circus as some may say...

richiiStick spinner
43 posts

Posted:
1. fill a container with parafin anything will work. half a bottle works well i generally find. Dip the staff in and wait till it stops bubbling. pull it out then let any extra drip back into the container. dip the other end. Once this is done either do a burn off or spin off the excess parafin into a spin off pot.

2. take the oxygen away from the fire, using a wet blanket and covering the head make sure it is fully out then do the other end.

3. not that i know of.

4. personal preference if you drop a staff onto bare feet it could burn them but its generally alright to spin barefoot.

5. a t shirt will protect you from getting burnt if it touchs the shirt instead of you. But there is no reason to wear a shirt this is again personal preference.

astonSILVER Member
Unofficial Chairperson of Squirrel Defense League
4,061 posts

Posted:
3:

It is possible that sand can damage wicks if it gets into the weave. Fairly unlikely to be an issue though.

5: