AnonymousPLATINUM Member

Posted:
Hi all... Nice forum here!! Anyway, I am new to the art of poi, and have been practicing for about a month. I've got several tricks down pretty well, and am learning more everyday. My question is, How did you know when it was time to light up? I have read all the saftey info (I take that very seriously), and the bits about doing your routine without hitting yourself. But, I'm still wondering when people chose to light up for the first time. Is there a giant feeling of trepidation (sp?)? So much for my first post. Great board here.Joshua!

PeleBRONZE Member
the henna lady
6,193 posts

Posted:
You just know that you are comfortable enough with the fact that you aren't hitting yourself so much and feel like you can swing a few without charring yourself in the process. Because of this knowledge the curiousity ends up driving you completely mad until you just have to. Then the adrenaline from it drives you completely mad forcing you to light up again and again and again.... smileAt least that's how it happened with me. wink------------------Pele Higher, higher burning fire...making music like a choir...

Pele
Higher, higher burning fire...making music like a choir
"Oooh look! A pub!" -exclaimed after recovering from a stupid fall
"And for the decadence of art, nothing beats a roaring fire." -TMK

nomadBRONZE Member
retired
356 posts

Posted:
Also, don't light up alone the first time. I discovered poi through friends on the west coast. Then i practised on my own for about 3 months. Then went back to SF and did fire for the first time with these people. I remember it vividly, as i was really scared of the flames! I only did basic weaves and butterflies the first time, just to get used to the idea that fire was spinning around my body.... Then you know what to try and when not to be overly ambitious, especially after you hit yourself a few times. smileNomad

xestrelmember
9 posts

Posted: