Forums > Technical Discussion > Buying Poi for the first time

Login/Join to Participate

Runemist34SILVER Member
stranger
17 posts

Posted:
Hey everyone!
I haven't posted much on here, and I haven't done a lot of spinning...and I think I know why.
My latest pair of poi are made from knee socks and tennis balls. I'm a student with a $0 budget, usually, so this kind of had to do for a while. However, they feel totally different from my last pair of poi that I gave away! They feel...squishy. The fabric expands, you see, when I spin, and so it's hard to really get a good connection and understand where the ends are.
This brings up an interesting problem when, suddenly, I have money over the christmas holidays and think "I'd really like to get some 'real' poi!"
I'm not adverse to making my own, especially since I'm a beginner. I'm not afraid of The Home Depot, and I'll make my own poi if that's what will get me more bang for my buck.
But if I want to buy them, how do I know which to choose? Are the fluffy poi too light, so I can't really swing them well? Are the sock poi sold here stretchy? Can I change the handles on them if I want to (I prefer to just hold them, or have ball handles)? Would you say I should wait before I buy them, since I'm such a beginner and have motivational issues (thus not wasting my money)?

Also, what do you think: DVD, or get lessons online? There's about a million lessons, but there are also some good DVDs.

Thanks!

JamethGOLD Member
enthusiast
378 posts

Posted:
The fluffy poi are really light - I operated on mine to add lead weights, they're still too light for most tech stuff so you'll outgrow them quickly.

The sock poi are made out of lycra and pretty stretchy - some think that's a good thing, I don't like them myself.