SpinnerofDetroitGOLD Member
All High Dude, Ruler of What You Want
2,280 posts

Posted:
Since this is a kind of dance and this is an Expressive Movement section, I figured to put it in here.

I'm trying to learn to Melbourne Shuffle, I'm brand new to it and if anyone has any tips for me since I don't have a mirror to see my footwork in. I also am trying to learn jumpstyle but it seems a lot easier so far, but if there's any tips for that please go on smile

The only luck is bad luck.

Shut up before I stall my poi up your ass grin

EpitomeOfNoviceGOLD Member
Putting the "FUN" in fundamental since 1981
787 posts

Posted:
A smooth, buffed dancefloor *apply talc/baby powder if needed* is rule #1. So if you have hardwood flooring or can un-gummy some tile great, smooth pavement and treated decks also can work.

Rule #2 you need a good pair of flatfooted shoes (skate shoes or old skool adidas or Pumas) tend to be the most readily available that you can feel the floor and the soles aren't too gummy.

Final rule #3 when you get lost in it is the moment you are getting down and showing your skills, it WILL feel more natural than walking when you tap into it. grin

Note: I do not shuffle, but do resemble it at old-school mash-up indie events. The baseline to be comfortable in urban technique are universal, you cannot shuffle on carpet anymore than I could liquid lock with footwork or do new jack swing.

Video yourself and watch it, I know the pain of no mirrors, but the playback will help you just make sure to leave it running and forget it's on. It will give an accurate image of your essence. yes

~Rock on!~

"As the pattern gets more intricate and subtle, being swept along is no longer enough"-Waking Life

(All you RLers this is epitome_of_lame *waves hello*)

2,280 posts

Posted:
I have one room in the house I could use, but I would have to load all my tutorial videos before disconnecting my laptop because the wireless adapter built into my laptop is only 11Mbps laugh3