Forums > Beginner Poi Moves > Turning on Glow poi, Help or hinder?

Login/Join to Participate

LoneHowlerBRONZE Member
stranger
6 posts

Posted:
I'm brand new to poi and I bought myself a awesome set of glow poi in socks. I practice with them tuned off. I find I work well with this, but the second I turn them on the move which seemed so simple with them off becomes difficult.
I just want to know if other people have the same problem, Or does having the poi on help your moves?

Mathias89stranger
2 posts

Posted:
i havnt had the same problem exactly...but it could be that the lights may be a distraction to you..sometimes ill get sorta mesmerized by the lights and forget what im doin and screw up but idk maybe try more sessions with glowsticks so as not to waste battery power but still get use to the poi having a light source at the end...

LaasyaBRONZE Member
Wind Dancer
126 posts

Posted:
I agree with Mathias. The only thing you are changing is the light source, so pick up some cheap one-time-use glowsticks and spin those for a bit to get used to the lights. The weight will be way off, but it might serve as good practice for you smile

Impermanent are all created things;
Strive on with awareness.
- Buddha

EpitomeOfNoviceGOLD Member
Putting the "FUN" in fundamental since 1981
787 posts

Posted:
Actually I was the opposite, the glowing helped my awareness of what is going on around me and aided my timing and rhythmic adjustments. Perhaps it's the effect like strobing that may be more of a hindrance more so than lighting...

Have you tried using them at twilight or with the aid of street lighting during full on darkness?

~Rock on!~

"As the pattern gets more intricate and subtle, being swept along is no longer enough"-Waking Life

(All you RLers this is epitome_of_lame *waves hello*)

AlienJonGOLD Member
enthusiast
290 posts

Posted: