STOPpandaBRONZE Member
stranger
14 posts

Posted:
Alright! I've just gotten into a pretty heated poi debate with my boyfriend about what a fountain is and is not. He's learning how to spin, and I've been doing it for about three years, so obviously I can see things that he cannot, while he can see things that I could only see before this stuff became second nature to me. This is why we need an outside opinion.

Ie does a fountain like this: forward weave on one side, transitioning low to a reverse weave on the other side, then transitioning high to a windmill, then bringing it back to the original position-- a forward weave on the first side.

My fountain is a little simpler: I do a forward weave on the right side, transition low to a reverse weave on the other, then transition high to a forward weave back on the right side.

I maintain that my fountain is more fountain-y because it follows basic principles of symmetry and simplicity. For instance: When he does his fountain, there are three main parts: the forward weave, the reverse weave and the windmill. My fountain only has two parts: the forward and the reverse.

Thinking in terms of front/back, imagine spinning a normal fountain-- in the wall plane. at any given time, your poi are either in front of you or in back of you. With my fountain, the poi pass behind me on the right side, then are brought in front of me, low, as I transition. They are then brought behind me again when they are weaving in reverse on the left side. When I bring them up high to transition back to the other side, they are again in front of me. Taking into account that my arms are directing the poi in a circle, we can address four points within the circle: 12:00, 3:00, 6:00 and 9:00. At 3:00 and 9:00, the poi are behind me. At 12:00 and 6:00, the poi are in front of me.