Forums > Technical Discussion > Adjusting the chains on fire poi?

Login/Join to Participate

gscRatikalSILVER Member
stranger
1 post

Posted:
I recently bought the fire poi starter kit from the site and used the arm length method to decide my chain length. Now, I got them yesterday and I feel like the chains are too long. I am unable to do wraps which basically takes out like half my routine.

HOWEVER, if I wrap the chain around my hand once, they become the ideal length, about the same length of my glow stick string (I'm a glow stringer mainly). I'm able to the all of my wraps.

Now, I'm a real newbie to fire poi. I haven't lit up yet. I was wondering the following;

Is there such a thing as an unsafe distance from the fire to my hand?

Is it advisable to cut the chains to the appropriate length? The nylon has a little chain thing so I can just reattach it if I cut the chain off.

Should I just stick with wrapping it once around my hand? The only thing I'm afraid of is the heat from the flame being conducted through the chains...But I suppose its gonna be hot all around me.

For reference, the fire poi is 24" inches from my arm while the glow string is 20" inches.

EpitomeOfNoviceGOLD Member
Putting the "FUN" in fundamental since 1981
787 posts

Posted:
I use to think the same thing and I've actually started adjusting my own fire chains you just have to be sure to do it safely. I do like long poi, but there is a point where it will limit you and as far as the fire being so close to your hand as long as you keep your poi in motion it won't creep up and get you. Use a low temperature flame as well to help with your confidence on that.