Forums > Expressive movement / costumes and props > Choreography fundamental building techniques

Login/Join to Participate

EpitomeOfNoviceGOLD Member
Putting the "FUN" in fundamental since 1981
787 posts

Posted:
I'm looking to move on to the next step in poi and staff, taking the things I know how to do (almost all beginner tricks and some intermediate) and putting them together seamlessly into a routine involving some dance/interpretive movement. The part I'm hung up on is how to choreograph a routine and keep it consistent. I'm a veteran dancer and musician, but have always learned someone else's piece (then practiced until perfect for performances being that is how classes/workshops/competitions work)and have never made my own from scratch let alone adding a element like poi or staff. I'm an uberbeginner when it comes to this part of the process, as green as it gets,so...

What are some of the things ordinarily done to step away from freestyle and actually build a countable and editable poi routine? Is there a way of documenting it like in a journal/storyboard format and is there a time signature spinning is assigned similar to composing music? Also is there an equation to altering a routine made for one song to another if there is a great change in BPM/time signature between the two (I'm a DJ and can also play bass guitar and percussion so using musical definitions is most helpful if you can, if not it's all good just be as descriptive as possible).

I think working on set choreography will help with my confidence issues especially when it comes to using fire where my biggest worry is a freestyle lack of direction that can end in my brain just freezing. Can't wait to hear some advice on this part of the creative process, thanks much in advance as always! peace

~Rock on!~

"As the pattern gets more intricate and subtle, being swept along is no longer enough"-Waking Life

(All you RLers this is epitome_of_lame *waves hello*)

Sister ElevenGOLD Member