Forums > Technical Discussion > Thinking of welding a ball bearing swivel straight to the oval link chain for fire poi

Login/Join to Participate

Warior DrakeSILVER Member
The Dragon Professor
203 posts

Posted:
Although I've been out of the game for a while I'm still by trade a welder and I saw a clip on youtube (from Nick of Playpoi.com) about fire poi design. I've got access to top of the line tig machines and I'm pretty good with them so I was wondering what people thought of the idea.

in basics the construction would be

Handle->Ball Bearing Swivel->Chain(note no connection)->Ball Bearing Swivel->Poi Head and whatever is holding it

just a thought, but if people think its something worth pursuing I can try it out and if I get it right send them for base cost.

I don't actually spin fire yet, still a bit of a newbie, but I want to be helpful to the community. This is how I saw a possibility so if anyone's interested lemme know.

Don't let your world end with you

p.s. No, just in case you're going to ask, I did not misspell Warrior, its supposed to be like that.

SpinnerofDetroitGOLD Member
All High Dude, Ruler of What You Want
2,280 posts

Posted:
You mean like these? https://www.homeofpoi.com/shop/productDetails/Pair-of-Pro-Series-Chain-Cords-w-Single-Loop-Handles

Thank you HoP. You never fail us wink

The only luck is bad luck.

Shut up before I stall my poi up your ass grin

The Dragon Professor
203 posts

Posted:
haha, I fail at looking through stores

but I guess something like that. Just the idea of eliminating as many unnecessary components as possible, sounds like a good idea to me.

p.s. No, just in case you're going to ask, I did not misspell Warrior, its supposed to be like that.

2,280 posts

Posted:
Yeah, you can also cut the end chains, stick the swivels in and weld it back. But I'd rather use a welding ring like on HoP's chains. Actually I want asplit ring at the top and top only so I can adjust the handle AND length.

The Dragon Professor