JDSILVER Member
stranger
2 posts

Posted:
Hi
I am a beginner user of fire poi's and so far I have been using Kero for the fuel.
I have a few questions that I hope some of you might be able to help with...
I will be travelling with a group to be part of their performing team...my part on the fire poi is only about 2 minutes long, but the performances will all be inside. I am wanting ideas on what fuel woud be best as I found kero was really stinky and smokey and left marks on the carpet.
Also, we are travelling to Indonesia so I will have to buy fuel there as I guess I cant fly with flamable liquids! Any idea of what fuels would be fairly worldwide??

TIA Any help will be much appreciated

FelexSILVER Member
Destroyer of worlds and ooo shiny.
268 posts

Posted:
Originally Posted By: JDHi
I will be travelling with a group to be part of their performing team...

confused2 Sorry but your travelling as part of a team why cant they help you?

MidkiffBRONZE Member
shadow stranger
462 posts

Posted:
well charcoal starter fluid works well has a fairly hot burn but burns for quite some time a whole lot less smoke and smell my favorite fuel i've found yet

"Is God willing to prevent evil, but not able? Then he is not omnipotent. Is he able, but not willing? Then he is malevolent. Is he both able, and willing? Then whence cometh evil? Is he neither able nor willing? Then why call him God?" - Epicurus

JDSILVER Member
stranger
2 posts

Posted:
Fair enough question Felex...I am the only one using fire poi. The rest are a maori culture team...

Thanks for the suggestion Midkiff, where do you purchase the fuel you use?

FelexSILVER Member
268 posts

Posted:
Right that makes sense now.

Err hmmm Will have to have a think.

FelexSILVER Member
268 posts

Posted:
Right you will want something that burns very cleanly.
Camp fuel/white gas is possibly your best bet.
It is less smoky and evaporates quickly which means a shorter burn time.