ecaBRONZE Member
197 posts

Posted:
Being a beginner myself, I have found that it often helps to videotape yourself while spinning.

What this does for me is, it allows me to step outside of myself and see from a third-person point of view what I am doing and how it looks. You could do this with a mirror as well but I like using video as it allows me to look back after the fact and just overall see how I did.

Doing this helped me get the 3 beat weave down. I had kinda been able to do a really sloppy version of it (I have video if you wanna see how horrible it was). Watching that video helped me realize what I was doing wrong. I still don't have it perfect, but it's now much more fluid, less sloppy, and overall better looking.

That's it.

"Think of the pussy, Weevil."
"What's a pussy-weevil?"

VillageIdiotSILVER Member
Pretty cool guy
23 posts

Posted:
It's a good idea for sure and if I had a decent tripod I would do it more often.

Zan recommends that you look in a mirror while you spin, side-on to examine your plane control, and front-on to fix up your timing and spacing.

smile

If quizzes are quizzical, what are tests?

ecaBRONZE Member
197 posts

Posted:
I don't have mirrors large enough to work that out with. I do have a webcam though, so I set it up, and go to town. It has helped me loads.

"What's a pussy-weevil?"

JamethGOLD Member
enthusiast
378 posts

Posted:
I don't have mirror large enough either, but I find if I'm using light toys outside that a window with a darkened room ( +/- curtains) does well enough.

ecaBRONZE Member
197 posts

Posted:
Doesn't sound like a bad idea... Now if the weather would make up it's damn mind. 2 days ago it was in the mid-to-upper 60's (F) and today it is 25...

"What's a pussy-weevil?"

triptricianSILVER Member
UFO Spotting
350 posts

Posted:
yeah i find the window thing is good too but i think i freak the downstairs neighbors out smile

would rather have a bottle-in-front-of-me than a frontal lobotomy