WindwatcherGOLD Member
stranger
2 posts

Posted:
So I've been spinning on and off for quite a few years now. Though the dreads in my neck (and my disability to tie them up) have prevented me from contact staff mostly.

But anyway, I got my first fire staff a few months ago and had my first burn around New Year.

Now I am confident enough in my skills and I'm sure to watch my spinning speed and which moves to do of course. (and trying to suppress my habit of sticking in extra beats on the last second :P)

But even though I'm confident, I'm just scared as hell that I might hit my dreads and burn them off. (so yea, chopping them off ain't an option ;))

Friend of mine just sticks his hear in a beanie, but that's not gonna work with my dreads.

So where do you leave your hair during a burn? Just make a ponytail and go for it? Force them in a hat? Wear a hoody over it?

--- Licking fire like it's ice cream ---

liquidtrancei dream in circles...
336 posts

Posted:
if it's too big for a beanie then soak your hair with water jus before you burn, tie a wet scarf(natural fibre-no synthetics) round it if you can and be carefull, then even if you mess up you should get off with it or if you're unlucky then you should only get minorly singed and not go up like the human torch you would be if it was dry, water is pretty damn good at absorbing heat smile
EDITED_BY: liquidtrance (1267553975)

even chuck norris can't pin you down if your on fire

Smurf24029GOLD Member
Poi Master Smurf
343 posts

Posted:
I have a ponytail but I also have straight hair. Its easy for me to wear a beanie but I also have a small hoody that I use the hood with.

I think the sound of wetting your hair and all that is a pretty good idea. Also if you have big dreads those things are solid, and especially if there wet, I don't think it will burst into flames.

Fly High
Spin Hard
Don't Stop

Fire_MooseSILVER Member
Elusive and Bearded
3,597 posts

Posted: