Forums > Videos > SICK spinning + SLICK editing = MINDBLOWING

Login/Join to Participate

killerc7stranger
1 post

Posted:
This is a video that I edited together of my buddy John spinning and breathing a few months back. I spin a little myself, but I am a filmmaker at heart. The kinetic nature and beautiful spectacle of poi is something to marvel at, and it more than translates to the medium of film. Truthfully, I spent little time beforehand solidifying a concept...I just knew that John is crazy looking and fire poi + breathing is even crazier, so I wanted to make a vid to reflect that. If anybody could hook me up with some higher ups who might be able to put my editing abilities to more profitable uses, I'm more than open to help. Poi is vastly under-represented and misunderstood in mainstream media, and I totally feel it's worth changing that social stigma. Once more people realize how flippin' awesome looking poi is, how visceral sounding it is to sling fireballs through the air, and ultimately, how amazingly fun it is for both the audience and the performer to experience, poi will EXPLODE. I want to be a part of that wave.

So help me help you! Thanks for watching!

Salem_ArchfiendBRONZE Member
Dirty Raver Pocket Monster
11 posts

Posted:
Nice video, very well put together.
EDITED_BY: Salem_Archfiend (1263871137)

Broken!This somber heart betrays only what it knows. A tragedy if nothing less. It merely scrapes the bones.You fell for kiss and a gentle touch.Now lost and alone...You hold your grudge,Because all you ever wanted You never really wanted that much-Salem

Sister ElevenGOLD Member
owner of the group property
1,277 posts

Posted:
I like. Especially the shots looking down on the poi and the playing with focal range. I don't see many poi videos that play with that. Also, I like that John actually smiles at/looks at the viewer, which is something you'd demand at a live show and I think tends to be overlooked on video.

p|.q|r:|::s|.s|s:|:.s|q.|:p|s.|.p|s