Junefiresticksstranger
2 posts

Posted:
Hi everyone, I'm new here; and just got back inside from a three session burn.

I'm not technically a poi artist; however I do play a lot with contact equipment. Fire nunchaku's mainly.

I love putting on a show for myself, it's addicting to watch the light and I often burn through out the week.

My concern is, on broke days I'll dip my ' Ghetto Shredded Cotton towel ' wick's in Charcoal fluid. They burn bright and clean while lit. Once they die down OMG do they put out a lot of smoke, I mean A crazy amount. I'm basically producing a massive smoke cloud around myself within seconds of realizing that my fuel & cloth has burned out.

I'm a bit concerned about the adverse effects of this.. I've used Lantern oil before and that seems to be the perfect fuel for my burns.. but like I said on poor days I juice up with Charcoal fluid... we have it stock piled in the shed.

Basically in a retarded nut shell, I'm just concerned if I'm going to die like over night from the massive amounts of smoke I've just inhaled smile

Call me paranoid, but I'm just being cautious.. it was a lot of smoke..

TideGOLD Member
Future pyrotechnician...? Or something.
111 posts

Posted:
It's not good for you, but it's all about dosage. As long as you give yourself time to recover from each massive inhalation it theoretically shouldn't do too much damage, however the problem is not everyone knows how much this "time" is. Once a week with that much, or by the sound of it, smoke could deal minor amounts of damage, monthly barely noticeable but daily it could be adverse in a shorter term.

Hope that helped.

This statement is false...?

Junefiresticksstranger
2 posts

Posted:
Totally helped , thank you very much Tide.

Happy burning

Mr MajestikSILVER Member
coming to a country near you
4,696 posts

Posted: