Forums > Advanced Poi Moves > Is it just me, or does this poi make me look fat?

Login/Join to Participate

LkLjourneyman
79 posts

Posted:
So ive been spinning for bout 2 months or so
and have majority of the basics down, not all, but alot.
I want to try some of the harder stuff because i guess you could say it looks cooler, and i'd like to start making everything flow together and i love learning new tricks...
I noticed on stuff like the waist strap you have to spin the poi behind you and the back in front of you on the other side of your body....
I'm a heavier set guy, i wouldnt really call my self fat, but i'm sure not skinny, Im well rounded you might say.
I cannot get my arm from behind me to make a beat in front of me, maybe due to my midsection being thicker then others, or maybe my arms are just to short?
Does anyone else have any problems similar to this?
Should i just go run or do i need to work on stretching my arms out or something?
Thanks

T-S-ASILVER Member
Magic Monkey Juice
252 posts

Posted:
I'm not the smallest of chaps and I have recently started playing with BTB and waist-wrap stuff. It's all about stretching your muscles and getting them used to going into new positions.

I am sure having a bit of chunk on you doesnt make it easier, but I would say it's certainly not impossible.

If you put your right arm behind your back, and stretch so that the back of your right hand is pressed against your left rib cage, press your left hand against your right palm and hold it there for 30 seconds - a minute, then do the same with your left hand stretched round and your right holding it in place and repeat a couple of times. I do that a few times a day (boring job sitting at a desk all night) and after a while it feels more natrual.