Forums > Other Toys > Meteor: Breakdown of Weaves (now with video)

Login/Join to Participate

RovoGOLD Member
(the person actually known as Chris Bailey)
544 posts

Posted:
Well it's been ages since I've posted on HoP and during said ages I've become quite a fan of the meteor. After some recent breakthroughs with weave variations in regards to meteor I decided to write this article to solidify my thoughts and hopefully help others along on their path to meteoric mastery. Now I know some of the terminology might be a bit odd as I have borrowed heavily from my knowledge of poi so I hope some of you with a better knowledge of meteor terms won't mind too much. Any comments, questions, or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Here's the article.

===================================================

Breakdown of Weaves w/ Single Meteor

Ever since I started playing with a meteor I was confounded by the fact that I could do a fwd thumb led 2 beat weave (figure of 8) just fine but whenever I went to do a rev thumb led 2 beat it never felt right. In fact it felt more like a 2 beat off set weave with poi. So in error I figured that that was just the way meteor worked instead of exploring further. The other day while practicing my fwd 3 beat weave, I decided to start messing around with doing all of the weaves known to me pinky led in both fwd and reverse to find new variations. After a bit of playing I started doing a pinky led 2 beat in reverse and "Voila!" a breakthrough was made. The equivalent in rev of the fwd thumb led 2 beat is a pinky led 2 beat. I never made the leap that when you switch direction you also need to change from either thumb to pinky led or vice versa. This new information/revelation was the key to allow me to map out all of the variations of weaves that are possible with a single meteor. It turned out that for either direction be it forward or reverse there is only one weave of equal degrees of twist for a given beat count (i.e. a 3 beat weave). T