Forums > Social Chat > How long did you play Poi/Staff before you lit them/it up?

Login/Join to Participate
Page:
HatsuyukiSILVER Member
37 posts

Posted:
I am curious, how long did you play Poi or Staff before your first burn?

I am playing Poi for a few months now (or about a year) and I still feel like a total newb. I absolutely dont' feel comfortable with the idea of lighting up my Poi right now. (Even if I owned Fire Poi). I know that I want to light'em up one day, but that's still in the future.

So I want to know how long did it take you? Did you just start off and played with fire from the beginning? Or did you take your time? How did you feel about it?

Thanks for your insights! hug

I don't suffer from insanity - I enjoy every minute of it.

alien_oddityCarpal \'Tunnel
7,193 posts

Posted:
it's inevitable you will burn yourself or singe some hair at some point. i singe my hair more often but i now tend to wear a hat so that gets singed and not my hair ubblol

ZeroGSILVER Member
Friendly Fire Fiddler
103 posts

Posted:
About 3 and a half months.

The Cambodian girl who showed me some first moves and the gear recommended 3 months before lighting up. Backhome, I built some tennisball poi and after half a year of them lying in the cupboard I seriously started practising and learned the basic moves, indoors over winter.

I lit up first time in April and played all moves I knew on the very first burn, including turns, fountain, buzzaw, flower and even my crocked btb weave.

Playing with a hood-Sweatshirt protects you well against the flame and its THE SOUND that is addicting as much as the view ...

Dont leave it for too long and no need to build up sweat ...

Juggling Jack FlashGOLD Member
Sneaking
1,207 posts

Posted:
I was spinning for about 3 weeks before I lit up. I was, however, being taught by a proffesional group of fire jugglers (flame) in that time, but did my first burn at home with somewhat nervous parents looking on from the balcony above.