GreskSILVER Member
stranger
13 posts

Posted:
I had a bit of difficulty working out where to place this post within the forums so I figured that, well, Spiral Wraps are a beginner move and so here I am. Admins feel free to move should it be deemed a requirement.

The background is this, I've been spinning poi now for 5 months, all unlit. I practice almost daily as my suntan session (I live in Cyprus) and I think I am now ready to light up. Unfortunately there are only 2 other fire spinners on island that I know of (but don't know socially) and so I will not have an accomplished fire tutor at hand.

I have researched extensively all risks and have everything set, both myself and my frau are aware of fire safety drills etc and pretty much everything from posts to movies has been taken into account.

I've been practicing a structured flow session, little movement and footwork to minise risk and only rotating through moves that I am comfortable with. My poi sessions often exceed 45 minutes during which time I will knock myself with the poi heads maybe a total of 2 or 3 times.

I'm going to be doing my first burn on the 28th June and I am a sucker for spiral wraps. I'm going to be using fresh 63mm Monkey Ball Heads fueled with straight up lamp oil, (no mixing with white gas). I have 3" Kevlar chain guards that will be pre-dampened with water protecting the lower parts of my chains. I'm going to be 30cm from the sea (incase I panic I can then just dive straight in) and have the most trusted person in the world as my fire safety so I know that she will be 100% focussed on the task at hand.

So the question is this smile When reaching the centre of my wrap (The change point where the spiral reverses) what is the risk of fuel transfer to my hands from the poi head. As there generally tends to be a 'bounce' as the poi heads hit your hands I wondered if any residual fuel left after spinning off would likely spill out of the poi head and set my hands on fire.