Forums > Beginner Poi Moves > Exercise For Better Pain Free Poi

Login/Join to Participate

davidravensdadstranger
10 posts

Posted:
I have been spinning for just over a couple months now. I know that poi is a good general exercise. I am finding that my shoulders ache after a few minutes. I know it is just my using muscles I haven't used before and in ways I haven't used them before.

I am looking for a good set of exercises that will help build those muscle groups so I don't end up injuring my self. I am doing some light weights, and not pushing through pain once it starts. I still haven't gotten much past about ten or twelve minutes of poi in at any given time.

Does any one know any good exercises the will help me build the strength and endurance in the shoulders, and spin past the pain?

David Demonja

V_RegalGOLD Member
Lost in the Lights
101 posts

Posted:
Iron Shirt and Iron Arm martial arts training.

I personally don't feel much of anything when I get hit, unless it's straight tot eh nose or between the legs. I've had enough abuse on my body that pain usually doesn't bother me too much anymore, unless it's consistent. =P

There are two main ways to build up pain tolerance: a) Get used to it. Occasionally HIT yourself on purpose int eh same spots, or b) Just train your muscles, to have a larger, more dense mass of muscles to cushion the blow.

Risen from the Ashes
The Phoenix shall rise in his royal flaire.
FIND YOUR DESTINY.

Mother_Natures_SonSILVER Member
Rampant whirler.
2,418 posts

Posted:
Are you stretching first? Thats the obvious one.

Use the poi to give yourself a massage. Mmm. Delish.

If its really an issue, use deep heat before a really big training session and it should help. smile

hug

astonSILVER Member
Unofficial Chairperson of Squirrel Defense League
4,061 posts

Posted:
V_Regal: I got the impression that it was not hits but fatigue.