Forums > Technical Discussion > New type of LED poi and how I made them

Login/Join to Participate

WrockBRONZE Member
stranger
5 posts

Posted:
So, I bought myself a pair of poi while vacationing in Australia and loved them. On my return to the cold country of Canada in the winter, I found that my fingers got really cold when spinning outside, so I decided to make a pair of LED poi that I could use indoors. I went to my local craft store and bought Styrofoam and what look like christmas tree ornaments, clear hard spheres with hoops on them and split in half. I then went to my local electronics store and bought a selection of the brightest LEDs I could get. I found that the styrofoam I used diffused the light well, and the poi looked great. I used red, blue, green, white and UV LEDs.

Now you ask me, What makes these different from any other LED poi?

Well, to put it simply, they change color to the music! I decided since I am an electrical engineer I might as well put my skills to use. I considered making them strobe to the beat but I decided it would be best to have them continually lit and change color to music. I made it out of a few resistors, capacitors, transistors, a mic and of course, LEDs. It works just like a Vu meter , and measures volume. I included an on/off switch and a dial for adjusting the sensitivity. I have the UV LED pretty much always on, at a little bit of sound the red one comes on, followed by the white then the green then the blue LED. It looks pretty cool, but the is only one problem. If you've ever heard syrofoam moving you know its pretty loud, putting that inside a closed amplifies the noise, so all LEDs are pretty much on all the time because the foam moving inside the ball makes noise that the mic picks up over everything else. If anyone wants to see them or a schematic of how to make them, I would be happy to post more information. I made mine for about $5 each. They run on 9V batteries because I figured the more voltage the brighter