Forums > Beginner Poi Moves > Particularly cool moves (glowstringing)

Login/Join to Participate

Born2Ravestranger
1 post

Posted:
I'm a beginner to poi I just started today in fact, I can already do a few basic moves like forward and backward swings, split time swinging and high and low turns. I use glowsticks and string instead of poi (For those who don't know what glowstringing is) and I was wondering, what are some fairly easy moves that look particularly cool in the dark, at raves etc.

Thanks for the help

~B2R

natasqiaddict
489 posts

Posted:
I'm pretty sure someone will come along and tell you to search the boards...

What looks cool and what is 'easy' are very very personal and complex questions.

Personally - I think flowers look cool. going from butterfly to flowers or weave to flowers (I'd say learn butterfly and weave because they are the basis for many moves)

Another easy thing is to have one arm extended and the other spinning with the hand at the shoulder to have one huge, one small circle either spinning same/opposite direction same/split time.

Thats all I'm going to suggest. Why don't you look at the poi lessons and decide yourself what you think is cool, so look at the videos page, find a move, ask someone what the move is and then look for a tutorial on it!

grin
EDITED_BY: natasqi (1220425749)

astonSILVER Member
Unofficial Chairperson of Squirrel Defense League
4,061 posts

Posted:
Ya, or watch people in real life.

Once you get a feel for what you like to do, then you can answer what is cool for yourself.

'We're all mad here. I'm mad, you're mad." [said the Cat.]
"How do you know I'm mad?" said Alice.
"You must be," said the Cat, "Or you wouldn't have come here."
- Lewis Carroll, Alice's Adventures In Wonderland

StoutBRONZE Member
Pooh-Bah
1,872 posts

Posted: