• All Purchases made this month instantly go into the draw to win a USD $ 100.00 credit to your HoP account.
 

Fine_Rabid_Dog


Internet Hate Machine
Location: They seek him here, they seek ...

Total posts: 10530
Posted:Hey guys.

So I want to get a new graphics card as I currently don't have a dedicated one at all.

I'm using a Shuttle SG33G5. That link provides a list of all the graphics cards compatible with it.

Christmas is coming up and I want to ask for one of these. Problem is, I've not the first clue about anything like this (I R NOOB), so I Was wondering if I could get some advice as to what to get.

I don't want anything to pricey. I want to try and keep it in the 100-150 quid mark, but I also want to be able to play awesome looking games like COD4/5 and other such stuff.

Any advice?


The existance of flamethrowers says that someone, somewhere, at sometime said "I need to set that thing on fire, but it's too far away."

Delete Topic

Fine_Rabid_Dog


Internet Hate Machine
Location: They seek him here, they seek ...

Total posts: 10530
Posted:Sorry for the double post. I thought I'd post a list of the compatible cards here for easy referencing.


ATI Readeon 2600 Pro 256M
ATi Radeon HD 3850 256MB
Asus EAH3450 HTP 256MB HDCP
Asus EAX1300PR 256MB
Asus Radeon EAH2600XT HDMI 256M
Asus Radeon X600Pro 128MB
Asus Radeon X800XT
Ati FireMV 2400 128MB PCI-E 1x
Ati Radeon A9250
Elsa FALCOX X130 256MB
Elsa Radeon X600XT 128MB
Gigabyte GV-R467D3-512I
Gigabyte Radeon HD 2400 PRO HDCP 256M
Gigabyte Radeon X1300 Pro 256MB
Gigabyte Radeon X1600 Pro 256MB
Gigabyte Radeon X600 XT
Gigabyte Readon HD 2400 PRO HDCP 256M
MSI R4850-T2D512
MSI Radeon RX1550 TD256EH 256MB HDTV (ROHS)
MSI Radeon RX1650XT T2D512E HDTV 512MB (ROHS)
Msi Radeon X700 Pro 256MB
Power Color Radeon X1600XT 256MB
Power Color Radeon X600Pro 256MB
Power Color Radeon X700
Power Color Radeon X800XL 256MB
Maxtrox Millennium G550 Series PCI -E x1 *
Asus EN8500GT SILENT HTD 256MB
Asus EN8600GT 256M (Dual Slot)
Asus Geforce 7800GTX 256MB
Elsa Geforce 6600GT 128MB
GIGABYTE Geforce 8800GT GV-NX88T512H-B 512MB
Gigabyte Geforce 6600 256MB
Gigabyte Geforce 7800GTX 256MB
Gigabyte Geforce 8400GS 256MB
LeadteK Quadro NVS285 X1 128
LeadteK Quadro NVS285 X16 128
Leadtek Nvidia Quadro FX1400 128MB
Leadtek WinFast Geforce 7800 GTX 256MB
Leadtek WinFast Geforce 7800GT 256MB
Leadtek WinFast Geforce 9600GT 512MB
Leadtek WinFast PX7900 GT TDH 256MB
Leadtek WinFast PX9500 GT 512MB
MSI N9400GT-MD512
Msi Geforce 6800 256MB
Msi Geforce 7800GTX 256MB
Msi NX7300GS 256MB
Nvidia Geforce 8600GTS 256MB
PiexlView Geforece PCX7800GT 256MB
Prolink Geforce 6600GT 128MB
SPARKLE Geforce 8500GT HDTV 512MB (ROHS)
Sparkle Geforce 6200 128MB

I think I want to go for an Nvidia card though. What do you guys think?

-edit-

Fixed stupid list. grin

EDITED_BY: Fine_Rabid_Dog (1229382021)


The existance of flamethrowers says that someone, somewhere, at sometime said "I need to set that thing on fire, but it's too far away."

Delete

UCOF
SILVER Member since Apr 2002

UCOF

Carpal \'Tunnel


Total posts: 15414
Posted:Ahem.. thats a list of compatible CPUs wink
You wanted panel 3 grin


Im a fan of ATI. Others will swear by nVidia. It's much like the AMDvs Intel debate. Thankfully, 99% of GFX cards' chipsets are one or the other - IMO,it more the chipset than the brand of card itself.

I think I have one of these: http://www.pcpro.co.uk/reviews/78840/sapphire-radeon-x800-gto-ultimate.html
br>
Its ready for the HD and looks very sexy. I'm playing WoW at some obscene resolution (32"HD LCD TV ubblove ) and have most graphics settings at full. It still runs quite smoothly-> I'd rather have prettier looking than not so choppy though so I could turn some of the GFX settings down.

Got it over a year ago now, so there are better things out there.

I'd suggest going for something with minimum 256mb of RAM, and HD ready too.
Most of those will run COD4/5 nicely as well as most other games you can throw at them though.

I'd usually suggest www.rlsupplies.co.uk (my dad and I buy our computer bits from nowhere else) but I think their website is in the process of being upgraded at present as they usually have much more stock frown

Their video card section is here anyway:
ATI- http://rlsupplies.co.uk/rlstore/Online_Catalogue_ATI_PCI_Express_Cards_65.html
br>nVidia- http://rlsupplies.co.uk/rlstore/Online_Catalogue_Nvidia_PCI_Express_Cards_66.html


Delete

Fine_Rabid_Dog


Internet Hate Machine
Location: They seek him here, they seek ...

Total posts: 10530
Posted:Thanks UCOF.

I always figured nVidia vs ATI was mostly preference based, but my flatmate has had trouble with ATI and none with nVidia, but I'm sure that goes the other way as well...

Thanks for the specs though. It makes choosing that little bit easier.

I tend to get my geeky stuff from http://www.ebuyer.com/
but I'm sure there's really no difference. smile

I'm hoping to dual screen this bad boy as well with two HDs. That'd be sweeeeeet grin


The existance of flamethrowers says that someone, somewhere, at sometime said "I need to set that thing on fire, but it's too far away."

Delete

simta
BRONZE Member since Apr 2006

simta

compfuzzled
Location: hastings

Total posts: 1182
Posted:very good place to buy comp stuff
http://www.cclonline.com/
i've found them to be very competitive.

ati vs nvidia is swings and roundabouts. there's fanatics both ways, haters both ways, i've usually had nvidia cards but that's mostly been chance rather than clear intention.

dual hd screens would be very nice wink


"the geeks have got you" - Gayle

Delete

Mother_Natures_Son
SILVER Member since Aug 2007

Mother_Natures_Son

Rampant whirler.
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia!

Total posts: 2418
Posted:I have an nvidia GeForce 8500 GT, was reasonably cheap when I got it, does everything I want it to, not had any issues with it. Except playing WAR, but that was because the game was buggy as hell and would force the thing to crash... these days its 100% fine.

hug

Delete

simta
BRONZE Member since Apr 2006

simta

compfuzzled
Location: hastings

Total posts: 1182
Posted:one thing i give credit to nvidia for is the amount of work they are putting into their linux drivers. if i ran ati i would just make the drivers open-source to annoy nvidia.

apparently there is quite a bit of stolen code in nvidia's drivers which is why they can't make them open-source. they could have the linux community doing all the work for them.

although this means nothing to 80-90% of computer users laugh3


"the geeks have got you" - Gayle

Delete

Richee
BRONZE Member since Jan 2002

HOP librarian
Location: Prague

Total posts: 1841
Posted:I heared a rumour PG gamers preffere ATI Radeon,
but can't miss a SLI dual channel with Ge Force.

Does Radeon support SLI?

I meen 2 x PCI express 1Ghz DDR3 graphic card
in SLI mode would be ace.

-------------------------------

Especially for Jon Everet,

Quote:DREAM BOX:

-1 x Quad Core 4Ghz / Water cooling
-2 x Ge Force 9800 1Ghz DD3 / SLI mode
-4 x Kingston 1Ghz RAM / 2 x Dual Channel
-2 x Western Digital 0.5T HDD / Raid 1 mirror
lighting,

:R

hug

EDITED_BY: Richee (1229427007)


POI THEO(R)IST

Delete

simta
BRONZE Member since Apr 2006

simta

compfuzzled
Location: hastings

Total posts: 1182
Posted:this is the dream box
http://www.armari.com/tesla.asp
br>


Non-Https Image Link

Quote:Magnetar TDX Pro
nVidia Tesla Parallel deskside Supercomputer

Multi TeraFlop compute Power
Low Noise underdesk chassis
Unmatched performance / watt
Comprehensive development tools
Windows or Linux OS

EDITED_BY: simta (1229439980)


"the geeks have got you" - Gayle

Delete

Fine_Rabid_Dog


Internet Hate Machine
Location: They seek him here, they seek ...

Total posts: 10530
Posted:I like you nerds. grin HoP has pretty much become my go to place for all things now. smile

So I'm thinking about getting the Geforce 9600 GT.

What do we think? My cousin recomended it to me and it sounds like it can do all the things I want for a pretty cheap price.

Although I hear that I'm going to need a new power supply. OH GOD WHAT DO I DO!?

x

EDITED_BY: Fine_Rabid_Dog (1229462665)


The existance of flamethrowers says that someone, somewhere, at sometime said "I need to set that thing on fire, but it's too far away."

Delete

UCOF
SILVER Member since Apr 2002

UCOF

Carpal \'Tunnel


Total posts: 15414
Posted:You shouldn't need a new power supply as long as there is a spare floppy drive cable (who would have thought it huh? smile ) that you can plug into the card. - Having said that..um. 6 pin power cable? umm I can only think of 4pins ones....

If there isn't, you can buy a hard drive to floppy power cable extension for a few pence.

smile

Looks a sweet card though grin


Delete

simta
BRONZE Member since Apr 2006

simta

compfuzzled
Location: hastings

Total posts: 1182
Posted:yeah you should be happy with that card smile

"the geeks have got you" - Gayle

Delete

Durbs
BRONZE Member since Sep 2001

Durbs

Classically British
Location: Epsom, Surrey, England

Total posts: 5688
Posted:Just a random reccomendation

As you're running a shuttle case, and thus (maybe) using it as a media PC - you could look at this card which gives me very good performance, and is silent...

Runs all my games well enough, not on full, FULL spec, but most things on high. HiDef stuff it copes with easily. Cheap too smile


Burner of Toast
Spinner of poi
Slacker of enormous magnitude

Delete

Fine_Rabid_Dog


Internet Hate Machine
Location: They seek him here, they seek ...

Total posts: 10530
Posted:Hey guys.

So I'm definatly going for the Geforce 9600 GT. I'll probably be back here if I run into any problems with the power source :S

Durbs:

Oooo... that is a niftly little thing. I'm not massivly bothered about temperature or loudness though.

Have you got a shuttle as well?


The existance of flamethrowers says that someone, somewhere, at sometime said "I need to set that thing on fire, but it's too far away."

Delete

Durbs
BRONZE Member since Sep 2001

Durbs

Classically British
Location: Epsom, Surrey, England

Total posts: 5688
Posted:Nay - just use my normal PC as a media PC (and for some gaming too).

Burner of Toast
Spinner of poi
Slacker of enormous magnitude

Delete

UCOF
SILVER Member since Apr 2002

UCOF

Carpal \'Tunnel


Total posts: 15414
Posted:Ok - so it appears I was talking shite.

FRD - PM me your mobile number please, I have a picture message to send you. grin

Having just found my PC wasn't turning on, I decided to give it all a big hoover out as it is located right next to a coal fire.

I found the 6 pin power plug needed for some PCI-e cards, so you should be fine as long as there is one coming from your power supply. In Skully's PC, the AGP card needed a floppy power cable input and it is there that I think I was getting confused. Open up your PC and have a look for something resembling the plug I will send you the picture of. If you have one, no worries, if you don't have one, buy one of these: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/6-Pin-Power-Cable-...1QQcmdZViewItem
br>
Good news is, I got my PC working again smile


Delete

Fine_Rabid_Dog


Internet Hate Machine
Location: They seek him here, they seek ...

Total posts: 10530
Posted:Not going to be anywhere near my desktop for a while, as its back at my uni diggs and I'm home for xmas. But once I get my mits on it I'll have a good ol' rumage in its innards and see what I can find.

I was doing research for power supplies the other day and apparently they've only just become a big deal?

Or something?

I also read that when your computer starts acting up the power supply is the first thing to check.

Glad you got it back up and running though. grin

-edit-

Here's a list of specs about the pcs power supply. See if you can make anything out of it 'cos I ahven't the foggiest.

Originally Posted By: http://eu.shuttle.com/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-541/825_read-14126/
br>Power supply
250 Watt mini power supply unit
Input voltage range: 100~240V
Connectors: 20-pin ATX, 4-pin ATX12V
Dimensions: 190 (L) x 82 (W) x 43 (H) mm
EMI certified: FCC, CE, CCC
Safety certified: TV, UL, CB, CCC, CSA, NEMKO
Active PFC (Power Factor Correction)
Power plug region specific

EDITED_BY: Fine_Rabid_Dog (1229645650)


The existance of flamethrowers says that someone, somewhere, at sometime said "I need to set that thing on fire, but it's too far away."

Delete

Fine_Rabid_Dog


Internet Hate Machine
Location: They seek him here, they seek ...

Total posts: 10530
Posted:
Non-Https Image Link


So I've got it installed and working perfectly. GOt COD4 on max settings and its running smooth as anything. Also installing GTAVI. Awesome!

The card came with necessary cables and all that jazz so there was no real problems.

THanks guys. You were all huge help grin


The existance of flamethrowers says that someone, somewhere, at sometime said "I need to set that thing on fire, but it's too far away."

Delete

simta
BRONZE Member since Apr 2006

simta

compfuzzled
Location: hastings

Total posts: 1182
Posted:you got dual hd screens running yet?

"the geeks have got you" - Gayle

Delete

Fine_Rabid_Dog


Internet Hate Machine
Location: They seek him here, they seek ...

Total posts: 10530
Posted:Not yet.

Need to get my HD telly back from home.

Then I have to save up and buy another.

Stupid expensive technology that I want. Bah. frown


The existance of flamethrowers says that someone, somewhere, at sometime said "I need to set that thing on fire, but it's too far away."

Delete

simta
BRONZE Member since Apr 2006

simta

compfuzzled
Location: hastings

Total posts: 1182
Posted:a hd telly would be nice, but i cant justify spending hundreds on that when i have far too many things on my toylist that need to be got. although i do have a hd screen on my laptop that does me alright for the moment.

"the geeks have got you" - Gayle

Delete

polarity
SILVER Member since May 2005

polarity

veteran
Location: on the wrong planet

Total posts: 1228
Posted:Originally Posted By: UnscrupulousChavOffersFootI'd usually suggest www.rlsupplies.co.uk (my dad and I buy our computer bits from nowhere else)

Well you wouldn't want to recommend a local company called http://www.welshit.co.uk/
laugh3


You aren't thinking or really existing unless you're willing to risk even your own sanity in the judgment of your existence.

Green peppers, lime pickle and whole-grain mustard = best sandwich filling.

Delete

simta
BRONZE Member since Apr 2006

simta

compfuzzled
Location: hastings

Total posts: 1182
Posted:unfortunate url laugh3

"the geeks have got you" - Gayle

Delete

aston
SILVER Member since Dec 2007

aston

Unofficial Chairperson of Squirrel Defense League
Location: South Africa

Total posts: 4061
Posted:Heheh...

Better than some of the famous unfortunate ones....


'We're all mad here. I'm mad, you're mad." [said the Cat.]
"How do you know I'm mad?" said Alice.
"You must be," said the Cat, "Or you wouldn't have come here."
- Lewis Carroll, Alice's Adventures In Wonderland

Delete


Similar Topics

Using the keywords [graphic* card] we found the following similar topics.
1. Learn > Staff > Magnetic Batons ( Iso Sticks ) Mr Jeff > Matchus gift card *help/resource
2. Forums > Graphics Card [23 replies]
3. Forums > video and graphics card crashing [29 replies]
4. Forums > UK ID cards [60 replies]
5. Forums > The HoP Card Manipulators Thread [111 replies]

     Show more..