Forums > Technical Discussion > belly dancing and veil poi, yo...?

Login/Join to Participate

GlitterTitsCorean Spinner
34 posts

Posted:
So, before i ever lost a brain cell flingin' poi, i belly danced. I started in college, my teacher, who is now a good friend and also married to one of my best friends, taught a basic course at my college and from there i was hooked. i've been dancing now for about 5 years, and while i love the music and the moves, the thing that really got me hooked was the shiny-ness and jingly ness of it all, let alone the cool props.
I never really got into sword dancing (damn those things are expensive and i suck at it) but i trained with both fans and fanveils for a while, and now that i've been flingin', i find that there's a new fang dangled thing called 'veil poi' or 'voi'. I was wondering if anyone has used them, got any advice about them, whether they're worth it or if i should stick to basic poi and try moving up to fire(i've moved from whacking myself in the face to whacking myself in the ass...so it might be awhile!)
so i'm just curious if anyone has tried them or heard anything about them, good or bad

lemme know!

excelsior!

Tori

Fruit don't talk...they listen...and wait.

scastoe8stranger
2 posts

Posted:
Hello, I'm a fellow bellydancer and poi spinner. There is a dvd out there called Poi for Beginners/Poi for Bellydancers. I bought it for the voi instruction, but the poi instruction was just as good as the other dvd's I've seen. She teaches poi first then shows you how to adjust the poi techniques to use with the veils. If you have your basic poi moves down then veil poi should be pretty smooth for you. You don't need to choose between voi and moving on the fire. You can do both. When you do choose to move on to fire find out as much as you can about safety. Sonya

PeleBRONZE Member
the henna lady
6,193 posts

Posted:
Seriously, it's a marketting gimmick, and not worth sinking money into.