Forums > Beginner Poi Moves > dancing with begginer moves(Need tips)

Login/Join to Participate

warren79BRONZE Member
stranger
9 posts

Posted:
Hi Im pretty new at this.Been on and off since November 2007.All in all about 3 months practice...so I know a few begginer tricks eg:front and back spinning same and split time,3 - 4 and 5beat weave,2-4 beat corkscrew,buzzsaw,a little bit of isolations,butterflys and variations etc......nothing to technical.

Can anyone give me tips on how to make these tricks look spectacular?When I see people spinning then it all looks the same in some cases.Although some guys are super fast or much more technical the routines are very similar.Now about a 3 weeks ago Ive seen Nick Woosley for the 1st time on YOU TUBE.....i WAS BLOWN AWAY.The routine I watched of him was simple tricks but just the way he was moving was different.It was freedom.He could put any hand anywhere without concerntrating where the poi would go.He was moving around,bending,spinning his body,etc.......so when I spin it usually means keeping my planes facing 1 way and just doing 1 trick after the other till I run out of them,then starting over......Nicks planes are all over the places,he is all over the place and I want to learn this so Ive been basically copying some of what hes been doing and also got the Scales Of poi.

What I need are some ideas from anyone on how to make simple tricks look cool.Im not a Coreographer so its difficult but as Im practicing so its getting better.......what are your guys routines like?How do you work them out?

Any comments.

warren79BRONZE Member
stranger
9 posts

Posted:
Hi,sorry this is in the wrong section....found some good advise in the relevant section....no need to reply unless you want to.

StoutBRONZE Member
Pooh-Bah
1,872 posts

Posted:
Hi Warren

I guess what you're asking is how to get really really good.