Forums > Social Chat > mIRC thru trillian, how do I set it up???

Login/Join to Participate

Agua
member
Location: St. Louis, MO
Member Since: 22nd Sep 2002
Total posts: 67
Posted:I've never used mIRC before, and I have the trillian program, can anyone tell me how to set it up for our IRC channel??

cheers

shaun


Amateurs practice something until they get it right; professionals practice until they can't get it wrong.

Delete Topic

Rozi
100 characters max...
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Member Since: 11th Jan 2002
Total posts: 2996
Posted:Within Trillian, the grey button should be a free IRC channel. Roll your mouse over it to see (a label should come up).

When you click on it, a menu should come up with the option "connection manager" at the top. This opens a box with a list of files on the right. These are all the servers you can join (or at least the most common ones). If you click on one, it should show up in the left hand servername window, and give details of the port. When you have set this up and connected to it, you should click on the grey button again. This time choose "join channel" from the menu. This allows you to choose a particular channel within the server.

I don't have the full HoP details here, someone else can supply them, but it will allow you to create a connection to the server, then join the HoP channel.


It was a day for screaming at inanimate objects.

What this calls for is a special mix of psychology and extreme violence...

Delete

Astar
member
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada.
Member Since: 8th Nov 2002
Total posts: 1591
Posted:The details are server name: irc.newnet.net Channel:HomeofPoi

Delete

Agua
member
Location: St. Louis, MO
Member Since: 22nd Sep 2002
Total posts: 67
Posted:which port should I use? 6665 always fails, I never get a connection...

Amateurs practice something until they get it right; professionals practice until they can't get it wrong.

Delete

Rozi
100 characters max...
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Member Since: 11th Jan 2002
Total posts: 2996
Posted:there, I cannot help you. 6665 usually works for me. Then again, I don't use IRC much

It was a day for screaming at inanimate objects.

What this calls for is a special mix of psychology and extreme violence...

Delete

flid
flid

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: Warwickshire
Member Since: 27th Aug 2002
Total posts: 3136
Posted:6667 is the default irc port, but most servers accept anything from 6660 to 6669. if you can't get it to work, use

server: irc.eskimo.com
port: 6667


Delete

Pele'sWhippingBoy
member
Location: Rochester, NY, USA
Member Since: 19th Jun 2001
Total posts: 442
Posted:Thanks for this thread. It reminded me to install Trillian and then I learned to hook it up to IRC.
Cool!


FYI: I am not Pele. If you wish to reply to me and use a short version of my name, use: PWB.

English? Who needs that? I'm never going to England. - Homer Jay Simpson

Delete