Page: ...
iainmember
30 posts

Posted:
The first and middle finger grip is good for a funny little move called a flurry, but not much else really. Plus it hurts a lot if you do it too much. ( I.E. mastering Flurries, ha ha ).

For front circles ( with arms down ) I find I use the ring grip with my index finger loose though because for some reason it is les likely to hurt my index finger joint, and I find it allows the index finger to extend out quickly for stopps, direction changes, and any toss moves ( the fulcrum of your index finger is the control point for club tosses. )

For back circles I use a ball and socket grip where the socket is all my fingers curled loosely around the ball. Where your arm is will determine which grip is right for which circle. ( I.E. if your right arm is across your body parrallel to the ground and pointing left, the grips need to be reversed. )

I'm no expert, but I got the above from my buddy Sling who got it from the man himself, Allan Jacobs years ago. I did have the privilege of meeting Allan at a Gizmo Guys shows a few years back. ( For those who don't know, he is one of the crew that originally brought club swinging back from obscurity in the early eighties. And a kick ass juggler and performer. )

You know what would be really handy is some clear close up video footage where you can actually see the hands up close.

Iain

StoneGOLD Member
Stream Entrant
2,829 posts

Posted:
Oops, perhaps a nice mod could move this thread to Other Toys. Thanks

Thanks Iain. I have been dropping the clubs a bit recently; that's a good thing?

Any advice on that pesky outward hip (draw) spiral. I'm missing something important when I try to go behind (after completing the circles in front)if you know what I mean.

[ 30 September 2002, 09:27: Message edited by: Stone ]