Forums > Social Discussion > perspectives on ageing and dying

Login/Join to Participate

Mr MajestikSILVER Member
coming to a country near you
4,696 posts

Posted:
So for uni I have to do this irritating as all hell unit called “perspectives on ageing’ and although I think the content is quite good 24% of our assessment is participating in these silly online discussions, only we have to reference everything we say and people only post on there to get grades so no real discussion happens. As a result I thought I’d post some thoughts/questions here instead. (I’m studying nursing, btw)

If part of nursing is aiding in the prevention of illness, caring for people who become ill, and in terminal cases aiding in a peaceful death, at what point should we accept that life is a terminal illness?

I’m fairly sure that we’re all aware that the older you get the more likely you are to die. So is the provision of healthcare for all, regardless of age, really just an attempt to delay the inevitable? I’d say it is. And I guess that’s ok, I know I want to live for as long as possible at the moment. but if provision of healthcare is really aimed at the elongation of life, how can we be sure that continually fixing problems is ultimately leading individuals to a peaceful death? Are we, by our desire to live longer, in fact giving ourselves a more uncomfortable death?

My example would be people in nursing homes on more medications than I could say in a breath that are just sitting around asking when they are going to die.

thoughts? opinions? irrelivant rants? juggle i really should think less and juggle more.

"but have you considered there is more to life than your eyelids?"

jointly owned by Fire_Spinning_Angel and Blu_Valley

Rouge DragonBRONZE Member
Insert Champagne Here
13,215 posts

Posted:
Nothing specific to say, just my thoughts.

what point should we accept that life is a terminal illness?