Forums > Other Toys > Good folding fire fans for a beginner? Found a few...

Login/Join to Participate

FireMachinanewbie
6 posts

Posted:
Hello, my name is Elizabeth and I have been spinning fire poi for about 4 years and recently I have been completely obsessed with fire fans.

Ive viewed many videos and I definitely know I want a pair of folding fans for my first pair. (and i'm aware of the limits folding fans have) I have found a few online and I am finding myself quite torn (and some what lost as to what to do)- seeing as I am a beginner and dont know which fans would be best for me.

I'm seriously considering purchasing the Bearclaw folding fans but some say that 1lb per fan can get quite heavy. Now Bearclaw does sell a lighter fan (at 10 oz per fan) would you suggest a lighter fan for a beginner or would it be best to go ahead and purchase the heavier fan? (seeing as they are rather expensive)

Do you think someone could tell me the pros and cons of a heavier fan vs. a lighter folding fan?

Here are the 3 different fire fans I am looking (with the fans specs and pics)

(and I really apologize, but this site wont let me direct link to the fans, I hope not many mind if I just post the fan specs and links to photos of them-I'm really sorry!)

**Bearclaw (the ones i'm really wanting)

"Our new folding fan is a new order of fire tool. In it's closed state, it's a large torch. But in the flick of a wrist, it roars open to a full semi-circle with 5 large wicks.

Like the Chinese fighting fan, this heavy brass delight is meant for slow-style fan work with about 3 minutes of fire. It opens with a loud voice used in Kung Fu as a distraction technique. It's solid struts and Pre-ox silk will insure durability at any temperature. It even creates a healthy breeze. Fans shown in 'right hand' configuration, which is the default, though 'left-hand' fans can be requested. Pairs come with one right-hand and one left-hand, unless specifically requested othewise.