Forums > Help! > Best way to get a gig?

Login/Join to Participate

deadkenndys1105SILVER Member
journeyman
65 posts

Posted:
Well Im new to the idea of preforming for money. I have done a few grad parties and small things like that. I and a friend that's a glass walker and juggler were going to be busking a local street festival but that fell through because my new poi heads haven't come in yet.

I was wondering though what is the best way to get a weekend gig at a bar or something. I was guessing business cards and a promo video would be the best bet. I would only do fire outside.

What about insurance? I already know safety is very important and even more so in front of people.

Any tips would be helpful.

LOCfanSILVER Member
14 posts

Posted:
For me, it's been all about who you know. It gets easier the more you connect with other spinners. I've had the great luck to meet up with the organizer of a fire troupe in my area, who has invited me to a few gigs. It's much easier to work with an established group than to convince people that you're a valid performer.

If, however, you can do want to start your own troupe or do solo gigs, marketing is very important. If you want to start with a bar or something like that, you should go straight to the manager and convince him that you'll be good for business - the fire will draw people in, etc. Sell your experience, too. Fire is dangerous, and people will want to be sure that nothing is going to happen to their establishment.

If you're in the US, this site is highly recommended for a fire insurance company: https://www.specialtyinsuranceagency.com/

Also, it'd be great to have some kind of video that you can show of a past performance.

Good luck! Hope this helps.
EDITED_BY: LOCfan (1217726675)

.: Sanity is calming, but madness is more interesting :.
~Russell

natasqiaddict
489 posts

Posted: