Forums > Beginner Poi Moves > help with tangles / air wraps

Login/Join to Participate
Page:
zenfernonewbie
4 posts

Posted:
Hello All,
I need help with tangles. I've been working on them for several months and have gotten better, but it is still a random thing and I need some advice.

What makes the poi wrap around eachother and then unwrap? ...instead of simply wrapping around eachother into a big mess? Is there a specific move, angle, pressure, etc. that I am missing? confused

I've tried fast and slow, long and short chains, lifting one hand or the other, but they still get wrapped up and stuck about 50% of the time. I'm dying to add these moves to my routines, but have to get them working 100%.

It seems to work the best if I'm spinning the poi in front of me, relatively slowly, with some isolation to the spin, and longer chains.

If I don't have enough information here, respond and ask.

ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED.

zen

zenfernonewbie
4 posts

Posted:
sorry hookers. didn't see what forum I was in.

will move this to the right place.

-z-

DurbsBRONZE Member
Classically British
5,689 posts

Posted:
Heya - i made a tutorial which is available in the library section up-top or on YouTube (Search "DurbsBT" )

As for why they do/don't un-wrap:

The poi can meet at various angles, though i'd try to limit them (at first) to between 20-45 degrees - this also makes them fit in more naturally with normal spinning as it doesn't require major plane-breaks to get into an airwrap.

I always emphasise the lack of effort involved in airwraps - They work themselves, once you've made the tangle, really resist tugging or yanking them at all. The speed "burst" you see in them is just the shorter point of rotation, and again, until you're happy with them just let the poi use their own momentum to un-twist themselves.
Yanking them makes it more likely for the poi to end up at different speeds which means they're more likely to tangle up.