pyrocombaticnewbie
3 posts

Posted:
Hi all. I'm trying to find out what "type" of spinning would allow for -
1. best weight loss
2. best overall fitness.

I know i'm probably going to start either an arguement or a pissing contest here, but I'm just looking for personal experience.
I've been spinning for a couple of years but not enough to be able to judge any differences.
Any help would be aprecieated. Thanks in advance (excuse the spelling)

SkulduggeryGOLD Member
Pirate Pixie Crew Captain
8,428 posts

Posted:
I put other, because I think each one will help different parts of the body along with hooping, whips, meteors, etc

Feed me Chocolate!!! Feed me NOW!

willworkforfoodjnrSILVER Member
Hunting robot foxes
1,046 posts

Posted:
I also chose other.

The thing thats so wonderful about these arts is that they allow for an infinity of different moves and movements. The props used are also very varied.

For instance, spinning a very heavy set of doublestaff may help increase your strength, while spinning a lighter set could help increase flexibility.

If you are looking to specifically improve your fitness you will get the best results from a targeted exercise routine - you can spin as an aside to this (as a warm-up / cool-down perhaps). You will find that not only will your fitness improve much more quickly, but that your spinning skills also tend to take a jump.

Working hard to be a wandering hippie layabout. Ten years down, five to go!

DurbsBRONZE Member
Classically British
5,689 posts

Posted:
I don't think it's at all prop related.

It's a classic example, but you can spin poi/staff, juggle, diabolo etc pretty much only using your forearms.
Or you can spin them whilst jumping around like a loon and you'll get a much better workout.

You can spin at different speeds, you can play with props of different weights, all of which would provide a completely different set of exercises...

Burner of Toast
Spinner of poi
Slacker of enormous magnitude