Forums > Other Toys > Practice Meteor question about the length of the meteor

Login/Join to Participate

paupe1GOLD Member
2 posts

Posted:
I recently purchased the monkeyfist chinese meteor hammer (https://www.homeofpoi.com/shop/productDetails/Monkeyfist-Chinese-Meteor-Hammer) and I'm beginning to think it might be a little long, but then again, I'm no expert on this so it may be the perfect size and I wouldn't even know. I'm 5'5 tall and the meteor is 6 feet tall, as described in the link. I'm just looking for someone to say that it's an okay size, just keep practicing lol. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated

MuckySILVER Member
Rum-Swilling Combustioneer
227 posts

Posted:
It depends on the kinds of tricks you're planning on doing. If it's uncomfortable for you, or you find you can't get used to it, there's no harm in trying a shorter length. Meteor hammers used for combat would have been significantly longer, but the rule for meteors seems only to be that it's like a double-headed poi. I've made one that was about 3.5 feet long just for goofing off and that was ok, but somewhat limited.

See if you can tie the rope in the middle or on one end in such a way that it shortens it without actually cutting it, and see if that feels more comfortable for you without potentially damaging it in case you later find you prefer it longer.

Or you could make your own practice one of a shorter lenght until you decide what works best for you. Like poi, there are no hard and fast rules, and since you're the spinner you get to decide what works best for you. You may decide you want two or more different lengths for different applications.

Good luck!

Bouncing Baby Pipe!

Fire_MooseSILVER Member
Elusive and Bearded
3,597 posts

Posted:
i'd advice against tieing a knot in the middle. Just add a knot to each end and keep doing that (keeping it symetrical) until you find a good length

Or just keep practicing with 6'....