Forums > Technical Discussion > Beginners question: Which poi should I choose?

Login/Join to Participate

FilipSnewbie
2 posts

Posted:
Hi everybody!

I'm a beginner poi spinner, with just some experience. I train mostly with homemade sock poi, and I've been looking for some interesting poi set. Still, i can do moves like 3 beat FW & BW, butterflies, buzzies, a few transitions and the like. I turned my attention on glow/led poi. I found some interesting offer on poipoi - Nightburst MultiGlow LED poi and Globalz LED poi (the strobe one). I think i'm going to order these two poi sets. But here's my question - is that a good idea? Are these sets worth their price? And, if there's any owner of such poi's, would you be so kind to describe these to me? Like what batteries does the Nightburst use, how long does it last, etc. I would be grateful in advance.

GeezaGOLD Member
addict
694 posts

Posted:
From my past experience of poi poi, i say they dont get them!

I had Globalz and they were rubbish, i had them for about 2 days before the beads came out the heads and took them back. I exchanged for poipoi cobra II, these are still lasting but the parts (cords, handles, connectors etc) are not good quality and i have binned all execpt the tennis ball heads and tails.

Go with something off here like rainbow balls or, if you have the money, get some Oggpoi from flowtoys.com. Alternately buy the triple oggz set and attatch some colecords to 2 of them like i have done.

If you want LED (glowstick style) then get flowpoi or flowpoi duo from flowtoys

Decent quality non stretch socks can be bought from gayle at hyperloop.co.uk

When you get better and they arrive on the market hyperlights can be had from hyperlight.co.uk. These will cost somewhere in the region of £180 and (possibly) be available late July time

FilipSnewbie
2 posts

Posted: