Forums > Social Discussion > Higher Education - to honour or not to honour?

Login/Join to Participate

Rouge DragonBRONZE Member
Insert Champagne Here
13,215 posts

Posted:
Currently after some advice and ideas to bounce off people. This might be long but please bear with me.

I'm in my final year of my undergraduate degree, a Bachelor of Arts (Languages) which is a specific language degree, overseen by the arts faculty (not unlike how psychology comes under the arts faculty in many universities in Australia). I'm majoring in Japanese and Spanish with a compulsory minor in linguistics. Unfortunately, on it's own, the degree doesn't qualify me for anything.

As yet I don't know for sure what I want to do with my life - but I know I don't want a desk job! I studied my course because I love language and because it would give me a wide field to start with and multi-lingual capabilities that I could bring to almost any career. But to actually qualify me for anything specific, I'd need to do a masters or a graduate diploma.

Although I'm not sure, I'm considering work teaching, interpreting, aid organisations or diplomacy, with a focus on Spanish because I don't relate to Japanese.

-Teaching requires a diploma of education (I already have high enough levels of the languages to teach them at a highschool level)

-Interpreting is best with a masters in interpreting (then accreditation by a formal body)

-Aid work has post graduate degrees but can be entered through graduate positions and I feel would be more interested in life experience in developing countries. I've been told by AusAid that they'd like a candidate who speaks a pacific island pidgin.

-and diplomacy can be entered through graduate positions but would have other entry points too.

The question is: Do I do honours? Or do I go overseas again and do postgraduate in a few years? Or do I do both? Is there an advantage to both?