ATM4UBRONZE Member
9 posts

Posted:
Hi I am new to poi. I mean BRAND new, and I had a few quistions about the Rainbow LED POI set with nylon cords sold on this site. First with the mention of rainbow does that mean they change colors or are all different colors or what? And second are they dourable in refrence to contact with the ground and eachother? Should I invest in the DVD or learn through the libary? If I could get any of these answered that would be great thanks!

DurbsBRONZE Member
Classically British
5,689 posts

Posted:
Hey hey - welcome to HoP smile

~ The rainbow poi change colour whilst you spin them
~ They're pretty durable, as long as you treat them well. Speed is not the answer for when spinning poi, slower - more control smile
~ DVD...hmm, personally I'd say "No". Scales of Poi and Encylopoidia are more intermeditate->advanced stuff and most of it will go over your head, though there's certainly stuff you can learn on both of them. For starting out though, the lessons here on HoP are more than adequate especially for complete beginners smile

Burner of Toast
Spinner of poi
Slacker of enormous magnitude

jo_rhymesSILVER Member
Momma Bear
4,525 posts

Posted:
hi ATM4U, I agree with Durbs.

If you are brand new to poi, I suggest coming along to some meets, you will learn alot from other spinners hug

Hoppers are angels who lift us to our feet when our wings have trouble remembering how to fly.

ATM4UBRONZE Member
9 posts

Posted:
I would love to do that, however I cant seem to find any meets on the west coast.

georgemcBRONZE Member
Sitting down facing forward . . .
2,387 posts

Posted:
For the DVD, Durbs, you forgot about the Art of Poi & COL2 DVD. We specifically developed it for the total beginner. Many of the Library lessons are derived from AOP in fact but are lower resolution and smaller size.