squidBRONZE Member
sanguine
382 posts

Posted:
I love my new staff, but being a total novice to it, I do tend to drop it on occasion. I have a 60" aluminum tube (7/8" diameter) with 24" of dowel wedged into each end. This is leaving the center with 12" more of open space. And of course there is some padding on the ends for protection (and added weight)

Its delightfully heavy for contact, a bit sluggish for super fast figure 8's and such, but the real problem is I notice that I am developing a wobble in the staff towards the center. At least a couple of times each spin, I have to massage it back into a semblance of straight.

But is it even worth doing this? Is the aluminum too thin, or should I simply stuff the tube completely with dowel? Im trying to avoid having the center too heavy as Im concentrating on contact moves.

"to a man whose only tool is a hammer, the whole world looks like a nail." Abraham Maslow

Fire_MooseSILVER Member
Elusive and Bearded
3,597 posts

Posted:
ive thought about putting maybe a foot of dowel into the center of my next staff, and glue that in there but both of mine just have some dowel in the end and only 6inches at that, the rest is hollow. Ive noticed a little bouce during steves occasionally but i can usually locate the bend and flex it back no problem.

O.B.E.S.E.

Owned by Mynci!

squidBRONZE Member
sanguine
382 posts

Posted:
right. And that's usually what I end up doing, flexing it back into shape.

So, the fact that it is bending here and there on occasion isn't overly worrying?

"to a man whose only tool is a hammer, the whole world looks like a nail." Abraham Maslow

Fire_MooseSILVER Member
Elusive and Bearded
3,597 posts

Posted:
i dont think so. I mean you COULD dowel the whole staff and then add washers or something to the ends (for contact weight) but the overall weight wil be much heavier. Im not saying its a bad idea, just ive never used one like that and cant imagine itd be better.