PinkNigelPinker than thou
336 posts

Posted:
Presumably there is some sort of fixing to stop the wick sliding off the ends?

A wise man once said: "You have two ears and one mouth, therefore you should shut the censored up and listen" (though, to be fair, he might not've put it _quite_ like that..)

squidBRONZE Member
sanguine
382 posts

Posted:
Are these the same Isis staffs sold on Salza?

And a couple of questions:
-Do you intend to cap the ends somehow?
-what is the actual length of it?
-any good for contact? (I cant quite tell how flush the grip is to the staff)

"to a man whose only tool is a hammer, the whole world looks like a nail." Abraham Maslow

squidBRONZE Member
sanguine
382 posts

Posted:
well, Im a novice to staff in particular, but I do love building things like this.

From the different staff building articles Ive been reading, having about 1 foot of wood on each end will help to add weight plus diffuse the transfer of heat throughout the staff. It would obviously need to be a snug fit. If you cant find a diameter pole that fits perfectly, then take a slightly smaller one and wrap masking tape around to adjust the fit so that its snug.

Different articles have mentioned using metal plugs, but haven't specified what those plugs are or how they are attached. I would think it would be a good idea though, so you dont char the wood pole inside (especially if it has tape wrapping). My inclination would be to weld, but that's a pain unless you already own the equipment. Maybe if you could thread the inside of the staff and then screw on a solid cap of some sort.

eh...contact mcp. I have been devouring her site tutorials and book. Im sure she would have some excellent ideas for finishing it.