AnonymousPLATINUM Member

Posted:
So I just got my fire Poi in the mail a week ago. I swore I was not going to lite them up for 4-6 months...... That didn't work. I only did very basic moves with them, only things I was comfortable with... Yes it was just circles and yes the roar of the fire is intimidating. So someone asked me today, what are you going to do when your son plays with fire? How are you going to approach that one?

And my heart stopped. What AM I going to do when/if my son plays with fire, lighters etc? I cant say I'm a professional, I'm not by far. I can say "Well honey Mommy is not playing with a full deck of cards and wouldnt you rather be smarter then Mommy." biggrin

So for any moms on the boards or anyone else, what have you said to kids about playing with fire? What advice can you give parents on the boards? What experiences have you had as a parent dealing with your kids and fire?

TribalBeatsSiouxSILVER Member
72 posts

Posted:
 Written by: AnueBunnie

I can say "Well honey Mommy is not playing with a full deck of cards and wouldnt you rather be smarter then Mommy." biggrin

LOL, I almost spat my lunch out on thr work monitor when I read that ubbloco

AnonymousPLATINUM Member

Posted:
ubblol Yes! I can make someone almost snarf their lunch on the computer! On a serious note, you didnt choke at all did you?

PeleBRONZE Member
the henna lady
6,193 posts

Posted:
Well, that's one approach! lol

My son was brought up with it. He was spinning poi and staff when he was about 4. Now he's 12 and could care less.

He, however, was there every time I went through safety with someone. I made sure of it. I drilled into his head *every single time* he was around fire (of any sorts) the safety measures.