Forums > Beginner Staff Moves > Why not use weighted staffs?

Login/Join to Participate

AviynwBRONZE Member
1 post

Posted:
Hi, I have no formal experience in staff spinning. However, recently I've taught myself some spinning tricks using my devil stick. I had not intended to seriously pursue staff spinning but after seeing what I can do after so little practice I'm seriously considering it. I've been juggling for almost a year and after under 8 hours of practice my staff spinning looks almost as impressive as my juggling. As I mentioned earlier, I've been using a devil stick to do my spinning. The devil stick is wider and heavier at the ends while it is lighter and thinner in the center. When I spin it this special weighting allows the stick to gain lots of speed. I've never used a "real" spinning staff, but my question is why aren't "real" spinning staffs weighted like this? Is there a reason why I shouldn't use my devil stick for staff spinning? My devil stick is 27 inches which I understand is a lot smaller than a regular staff. But this also allows it to spin extremely fast and use one in each hand.
Thanks for the advice.

Fire_MooseSILVER Member
Elusive and Bearded
3,597 posts

Posted:
well as for teh shape, i guess its because a staight staff is easier to hold and an hour glass shape on a staff wouldnt conform to contact too well. i could be wrong as ive never tried it.

my staff is 5.5 feet and has 7 inchs of wood dowel in each end to make it weighted like you are talking about i think. this is to give it that toppling effect. i think this tecnique is mostly for contact because i could see a smaller staff just for spinning might want to be weighted all the way through.

im new to this though so might wanna wait for others to answer you.

O.B.E.S.E.

Owned by Mynci!

ImbalanceGOLD Member
not different, just not the same
263 posts

Posted: