Forums > Technical Discussion > how to make lamp oil a quicker burn?

Login/Join to Participate

ellenfieldnewbie
2 posts

Posted:
Basically I am a teacher (with fire experience) at a school and we are performing A Midsummer Night's Dream in our outdoor amphitheater. I am living in Istanbul and getting white gas is next to impossible. So I have bought some lamp oil but when I tested it, I had a burn time that was over 4 minutes in length. Usually with the same set of poi using white gas the burn time would be 2 min maximum. I want to shorten the burn time so that one student can use poi within the play. Anything over 2 minutes brings up some staging difficulties.... How can I cut the burn time in half? Is there anything I can add to thin out the oil?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Fire_MooseSILVER Member
Elusive and Bearded
3,597 posts

Posted:
a littel off topic, but i hear that istanbul was constantanople.....

O.B.E.S.E.

Owned by Mynci!

ElectricBlueGOLD Member
Now with extra strawberries
810 posts

Posted:
hurm i can't think of any thing you could add to the full.
But have you though about not dipping them for as long / spinning them of harder / dipping them early.
It might take a bit of experimentation to work out the right times and stuff. But i think you could get there.

You could also think about a creative way to put the poi out rather than letting them die out.
Mabey a tin with a lid to put them out or some thing?

I {Heart} hand me downs and spinning in the snow.<br /><br />

MynciBRONZE Member
Macaque of all trades
8,738 posts

Posted:
a bucket of dry ice will extinguish poi as it cuts off oxygen wink very stagey way to put them out biggrin

A couple of balls short of a full cascade... or maybe a few cards short of a deck... we'll see how this all fans out.

UCOFSILVER Member
15,417 posts

Posted:
umm.. use a fire blanket? ubblol

Which scene is the fire poi in?

ubersmackSILVER Member
journeyman
73 posts

Posted: