Forums > Technical Discussion > Open Source Software Licenses

Login/Join to Participate

*HyperLightBRONZE Member
old hand
1,174 posts

Posted:
Hey guys and girls,

I've been working on some open source GUI software for programming glow toys (Hyperlights, Aerotechs etc. etc.) and I'm getting to the stage where I'd like to put what I've got onto sourceforge.net. To do that however, I need to pick a license to distribute it under. I want it to be free and I don't want anyone to be able to mod it and sell the result. I'm happy for whatever companies to add modules to write to their toys, but I'm hoping the core of it will be free to try and encourage as much collaboration as possible.

So does anyone know if a GNU GPL license will do that? From what I've read it sounds about right.. ?

Cheers,
Jon

Cake or Death?

garthySILVER Member
old hand
717 posts

Posted:
[Disclaimer: I'm not a lawyer but I have been writing/using open source for 10+ years..]

If you want companies to write modules for it but be able to keep the source hidden, which some may want, then you'll need a dynamic loading system/ Plugin system for the modules. These can be compiled seperatly from your source and be under whatever license the companies wish.

otherwise using the GPL any source that get built with your source is GPL.

If this is ok then Go for it.
Be careful about choosing a version / specifying a version as some GPL licenses specify this or any later version which could add stuff to the license you don't want. GPLv2 is good biggrin

Sourceforge may ot be the best choice as it does have problems quite often. Quite a few large projects have moved away from it due to persistant problems..

list of fThere is aree hosting support for projects here...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Free_Software_Hosting_Facilities

"**grumble*spuriouswindmills*grumble**" - Coleman
"if poi was only for girls there wouldnt be many good poi spinners...." - Nx

*HyperLightBRONZE Member
old hand