Forums > Beginner Poi Moves > suggestions for improvement

Login/Join to Participate

ngsromzGOLD Member
7 posts

Posted:
So I've been doing poi for about 5 months now and I kind of hit a dead end. In the beginning I learned moves fast and made quick progress, but now that they take longer to learn I find myself floating between a bunch of half-learned moves.

So I was hoping for advise on what moves to pursue next, hopefully some kind of structured list, kind of like a lesson plan : ubbrollsmile.

Here's what I can do at the moment:

Weaves-
5bt forward, reverse, forward btb, 3 bt reverse btb.
Butterfly weave, 5 bt windmill.

Butterfly-
Inward, outward, ttn, inward btb (sloppy), overhead

Combos-
Airwrap in front over the head to outward butterfly
Foward 3bt-->forward btb-->reverse btb-->reverse 3bt-->windmill-->forward 3bt

Misc.-
airwrap
corkscrew
fountain
wraps
jump overs
elbow shots
meltdowns

Sambo_FluxGOLD Member
Introverted
833 posts

Posted:
FLOWERS!!!! bounce

You'l have loads of fun learning them, and it will open up your spinning a fair bit. There are lots of variations, forwards, backwards, anstipin, opposite directions etc.

Learn Isolations as well, you'll find yourself isolating everything after a while! biggrin

My Mind is a Ship
Emotions become the Waves
Soul is the Ocean

If a quizz is quizzical, what is a test?

[Nx?]BRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,749 posts

Posted:
butterfly, and especially the forgotton time, splitime.

This is a post by tom, all spelling is deleberate
-><- Kallisti

ElentariSILVER Member
8 posts

Posted:
More along the line of flowers-
heres a great video for learning them/compound circles, and it'll fill your desire for a lesson plan pretty well too, I think. It did for me at least!

"He had been 8 years upon a project for extracting sunbeams from cucumbers, which were to be put in vials, hermetically sealed, and let out to warm the air in raw inclement summers."
~Swift, Gullivers Travels

MuskelungeGOLD Member
55 posts