Forums > Other Toys > Fire Fan handles...mine's weird

Login/Join to Participate

Stephanie_ClarkBRONZE Member

Posted:
Ok, I'm a newbie...(shut up!) and I have a weird set of handles on my fans. They're a d-shape handle and I suspect they're for show instead of actual fire work, although they've got the spokes for the wicking. Any advice on how to work with them?

BrennPLATINUM Member
Will carpal your tunnel in a minute.
3,286 posts

Posted:
Firstly, welcome to HoP Kolibri smile never be ashamed of being new at something - we're all learning no matter how long we've been at it!

Could you possibly put up an image to show us? I have used two different styles of fans - one which has a round ring handle (akin to that which HoP sells) and a cresecent shape handle. Both are workable but require different handling and what you may do with one grip style you cannot do with another.

You're only limited by your imagination with fans smile If you have a history of dance or martial arts, draw from that. Think of fans as an extension of your own hands and dance with them - focus on that moreso than you would on technicals.

Best of luck! hug

ॐ

Owner of burningoftheclavey smile
Owned by Lost83spy

Posted:
Ok...this is the handle on my pair

Non-Https Image Link

BrennPLATINUM Member
3,286 posts

Posted:
Interesting. I can't tell from the picture how large the 'D' is, but I can see how it can be constricting. If possible, are you able to wrap your hand around the ring with the 'D' shape being into the base of your palm? Its difficult for me to explain without a clear palm-facing pic (I don't have one handy i'm afraid), but this is the best one I have handy:

If you look closely, the ring is held into the base of my palm, with my fingers around the top part of the ring (in your case, where the unwrapped D part is is, or the straiight part of the wrapped D).