Forums > Help! > Some fire poi and beginners questions.

Login/Join to Participate

Dezzynewbie
4 posts

Posted:
Hi, I'm completely new to the poi scene. I saw a friend of mine do it and as anyone would do, I went to youtube and searched for videos of it. Now, I'm not stupid enough to start out with fire, but one question sits heavily in my head:
What makes the whole "stream effect" of poi? I've seen many videos of Yuta, where he will do flowers and it will almost be visible as a constant picture. Then seeing others, it will be the perfect design, no flaws in the movements, but it is more like dots moving along the path, rather than 'snakes'. What causes this? Is it rotation speed? The type of poi? The age of the poi? Also, What's the difference between Kea, Mura, and Weka poi?

As for me being a beginner:
I don't know if it was just me, but I found it to be slightly.... costly to buy sock poi, then fluffy poi, onto led poi, and finally, if done, fire poi.

I'm 15 so I guess I have more of a set budget, but I don't consider myself dense enough to go to fast and mutilate myself to a raisin with LED or other poi. Could I just start with those?

Finally, I live in a rather populated area and I'm considering if it's worth searching for a teacher. I kind of want to learn this on my own and do it privately with a DVD or something. I know that's a less 'right there to help you with your problems', but would those of you past beginners say it makes a great difference from learning from online videos and DVDs in comparison to teachers?

FireByNiteSILVER Member
Are you up for it??
349 posts

Posted:
the difference between the "stream effect" and the "dots" is probably more in the camera work than anything eg how many frmaes per second, editing etc etc

Poss a bit from how fast people are spinning as well.confused