Forums > Social Chat > Reclaiming Your Bank Charges (UK only)

Login/Join to Participate

LoewanBRONZE Member
and behold!
464 posts

Posted:
Most of us feels that banks and cards are charging us far too much over silly little things like late payment, overdrafts and other penalities. As a student, I was at the front end of this and must have accumalative looads of debts from being in debt.

Recently, the Office For Fair Trading And Standards have decided that these charges are unfair. Bank and credit card companies should charge no more than £12 and with this law in place, there is a way to claim the excessive charges back! Some people were able to reclaim as much as £900 from their bank! Read on!

https://www.fool.co.uk/news/foolseyeview/2006/fev060504c.htm
https://www.moneysavingexpert.com/cgi-bin/viewnews.cgi?newsid1141050760,24632,
https://www.thisismoney.co.uk/bankcharges

I went to my bank yesterday to ask for a full batch of statement for the last 5 years. The lady at the cashier clocked on immediately and asked me whether its to reclaim the charges and that she herself have done it. Its all worth a try at the end of the day I suppose. tongue

Why let your body be a temple? When it can be a theme park?

Wii Console Number: 3294 0297 7824 7498

baddersSILVER Member
18 posts

Posted:
I've done this with Barclays. Got the last six years of statements (thats as far back as they will have) and apent an evening totting up my charges (well over a grand!). Put it all in a table and sent it off to them with a letter that i got from a website (will gladly email anyone a copy whowants one). Heard from them about a million years later and they only opffered me half the money which i think is rubbish.

Planning on calling them and saying i will settle for 3/4 or will follow with legal proceedings. Fingers crossed.

I may loose people. I may even loose my mind. But there's one thing I never loose....and that's the beat!

MynciBRONZE Member
Macaque of all trades
8,738 posts